Showing posts with label UEFA. Show all posts
Showing posts with label UEFA. Show all posts

Tuesday, April 02, 2013

Temporary Leave of Absence

Hi everyone, the last couple of weeks have been ridiculously hectic and I really haven't the time nor the energy to update the blog. And from the looks of things, the schedule seems to be on track until at least early August. So in short, I wouldn't have the time to continue blogging and posting as consistantly as before. That said, I'll still be squeezing in time to catch the games and hopefully celebrate number 20 in a few weeks time.

And since I'm on, I'll do a few quick thoughts on the games that I've missed.

5th March Manchester United 1 - Real Madrid 2
This one just broke the hearts. To lose the way we did via a dubious and, quite frankly, bias decision by the referee was a hard one to swallow. The words incompetent and fixed come to mind and UEFA coming out in support for the referee was another hard pill to swallow. They could have just kept quiet but they didn't.

I wonder is Qatar's Dream League project is still on the cards. Given the way we've been treated by UEFA and the fuckwits that run the system, maybe a threat to break away with the other big boys in the other leagues might give them a wake up call, afterall we're the cashcows they've been milking for god knows how long.

Too bad United has previously come out to reject the idea outright. Might wanna reconsider it now that UEFA has shown it's ugly and filthy hand.


10th March Manchester United 2 - Chelsea 2
How we drew this one was bewildering. We raced into an early 2 goal cushion and stopped playing after that. We allowed Chelsea to come at us at will, and they did. The midweek game against Real could have played on our minds, but for a team of our stature, this was just unforgiveable, to let a two goal lead slip.

To make matters worst, we were holding on for dear lives at the end of the game.

16th March Manchester United 1 - Reading 0
Pretty much routine win, although Reading did trouble us. Holding on to a single goal lead is almost always not preferred, but our defense has been keeping clean sheets in the league.

30th March Sunderland 0 - Manchester United 1
Even more routine win. Sunderland are hopeless and I really hope this bunch of no-hopers somehow get relegated. I don't think I've seen a Martin O'Neil team play this lifelessly before. Just a shameful shameful performance by the home team.

BTW, Martin O'Neil was sacked just after the game. Sunderland just didn't deserve him. I think I'll celebrate their relegation more than us winning the league. Bunch of pussies, pun fully intended.

1st April Chealsea 1 - Manchester United 0
We didn't do the job in the first leg and were deservedly dumped by a brilliant goal from Ba. Sure we played just 48hrs before, but so did Chelsea. This was a dull, drab affair.

I think we only had 3 shots on goal, and that is really not acceptable for a team that's supposedly going to win the league. This game exposes just how poor our midfield is. The only consolation is that we're probably still going to win the league, but after last season, I'm not counting my chickens.


Monday, April 23, 2007

Ronaldo Wins the Double

On a night where Chelsea's nerves didn't hold against a resolute Newcastle team (not something you read very often....'resolute' and 'Newcastle' in the same sentence), Ronaldo scores a double, winning both PFA Player and Young Player awards.

On the injury front, Rio's out for 2 weeks. Given the number of defensive personale out injured, we're down to the bare bones in that department.

All of a sudden, the midweek game against AC does look somewhat daunting. Well, I still hope we stuff them. I have absolutely no respect for AC this season, and even less for UEFA. They are the least deserving team in left in the competition and for a team found guilty of corruption and bribery, they really shouldn't be in it in the first place.

Saturday, April 07, 2007

Roma Aftermath II

So many reports out there in the past 2 days. I'm only going to put up those that are interesting to me.

Times - United Left in State of Shock by Praise for Rome Police
Times - United Fans Pay in Blood for Italy's 'Loose Dogs'
SportingLife - UEFA Expected to Take Toughline
Mirror - Ex-Liverpool Sta's Take on Violence in Rome
Telegraph - Police Exposed as Guilty Party
Telegraph - UEFA Plans 'Sports Police'

Meanwhile in the EPL:

Fergie Rages over Chelsea's Early kickoff - I'm kinda surprised Spurs get so little time off, but I'm not surprised by the decision. Wasn't it just last week that Moanrinho complained about playing catch up to United cause they always played catch up after United has played? Looks like the FA not only gave in to his request, but added a little something by presenting a tired Spurs side.

Thursday, April 05, 2007

Battle of Rome Aftermath

News Reports:

Soccernet - United Fans Hospitalised
Soccernet - Frisk Report
Telegraph - Fans Clash with Riot Police
The Sun - 'Brute' Cops Beat Man U Fans
MEN - Fans Account
Guardian - UEFA Launches Probe
Guardian - United Condemns Police 'Over-reaction'
Football365 - Fans Group Fears Fatality

It's a shame it all comes down to this. The scenes I saw on TV were shameful and frankly doesn't bold well for all parties involved. The beatings were brute and seemed rather excessive. While the incident is being investigated, I'm sure UEFA will have to come down hard on both sides, especially since our fans were also involved in a similar incident in France in the last round. As the saying goes, 'there's no smoke without fire'. Twice in as many rounds kinda throws the innocent plea out of the window.

Blog Archive